July 16, 2007

Fat packs and other puzzling questions

Posted in Catt's Ramblings at 8:40 pm by Catt

I’ve been trying to work out if “fat packs” are worth putting in my store. I’ve done it for a couple of items, like the tube tops and Anchored Sweaters but I’ve never sold a single one and I’ve never had anyone actually buy all colours of an item at once before. I know a lot of designers do it and honestly it only takes one extra prim (and prim usage is not a problem for me) but it seems a waste to spend time on the sales pic if no-one is interested. So how many of you actually buy fat packs of clothing? How many would be interested in Catt’s Creations carrying them? (you watch the amazing dearth of comments to this post now – lol)

Fashion Heaven is requesting comments for an upcoming M2 article. They want to know how you feel about permissions. Do you want mod/copy or mod/trans in your clothing? I encourage everyone who might actually read my blog to visit and answer their simple questions. Because… I wanna know tooooo! Permissions is one of those things that have been bothering me for a while now. I sell exclusively mod/trans. I hate having clothing in my inventory that I cannot give away or sell, and as far as I’m concerned if it aint mod I’m not interested. So given that is my preference thats how I sell my clothing. But a lot of people prefer mod/copy and because of theft and general SL inventory screw-ups a lot of designers are moving in that direction.

I did think at one point of offering both versions but the idea of retrofitting all of my clothing gave me nightmares and I just couldn’t bear the thought of it. If anything was going to make me give up SL, having to go through that would have done it.

But.

There’s always a but isn’t there, nothing is ever simple. My recent clothing, like the swimsuits, the corset and the tube tops have been on multiple layers so that you can mix and match. And each of those pieces have been mod/trans. Which gives someone the opportunity to sell the layers they dont want to use. I certainly don’t mind someone giving the other layers to friends but selling the pieces just seems wrong to me. I made it as a complete set for mix and match, and thats the way I would want it sold.

Now I have no idea if this has happened, and I probably wouldn’t know if anyone did, and truthfully, once I have sold the original as trans I have no control over what someone does with it. I’ve certainly not been losing sleep over it but I definitely can’t wait to see what kind of results M2 gets. Will it make a difference to how I sell my clothing? Maybe. I don’t know yet. Possibly the only thing that will force me to change is getting ripped off, or the buyers of SL standing up and in one voice proclaiming “we want mod/copy”. 😀

I lurk in a lot of forums. I admit it. My name is Cattrina Careless and I’m a forum lurker 🙂

What I have noticed in a lot of merchant discussions is a common theme, how much time is spent with customer IMs and customer service. Now I’m not sure if I’m doing something amazingly right or amazingly wrong, but I very very very rarely get IMs from my customers. I know I’m probably worrying about nothing but… well if its so common for other designers to have to spend large amounts of time with customer service, why aren’t I? And because I don’t get feedback from my customers I’m not sure if its because they are completely happy or just don’t feel like its worth the effort of sending an IM. And yes I think you can presume from this that I am also very insecure – lol.

What you’re still here? Man you must have nothing better to do today 🙂 But seeings as how you are, perhaps you can help me answer my last puzzling question.

My prices. Now I’ve always hated how much it costs to buy clothing, yes maybe I’m a cheapskate but especially in todays SL where not everyone gets stipend for some people $L are a little scarce. I prefer to make my clothing affordable. But. Again with the but! I have also heard that cheap clothing is considered just that… cheap. So am I losing a customer base because I don’t charge more? To me that just sounds insane, but on more than one occasion I’ve seen someone recommend to a new merchant they need to increase their prices. Again not something I’m losing sleep over but it does make me wonder every time I see it recommended.

Well thats my random thoughts for today, congratulations to anyone who made it this far 🙂 you are my hero’s!

2 Comments »

  1. Queenie Extraordinaire said,

    Thank you Catt for your thoughts on this issue and getting the word out about the upcoming article. I have only received about four responses so far so I am definitely looking for more! Don’t be shy, people 🙂

    ~Q~

  2. Catt said,

    It is indeed my pleasure Queenie, likek I said its something that I really want to know as well 🙂 Soon as I log onto SL next I’ll be sending my answers on a notecard your way.


Leave a Reply

